RSS Feed

Day 1: Pumpkin Coffee

Posted on

I decided to start Day 1 a little slowly.  Had Day 1 of this majestic journey been a weekend, I probably would have gone for broke with 3 pumpkin-intense meals.  But it’s a Tuesday.  So instead Day 1 starts off with a taste of pumpkin into my coffee.

Taking advantage of pumpkin fervor, Jet Puffed now makes Pumpkin Spice Marshmallows.  I was in Wal-Mart and found these lovely delights sitting on a display dedicated to all things fall.  I bought them not really sure what I’d do with them but as soon as I get home I had tons of ideas (stay tuned for Pumpkin Spice Rice Krispie Treats).

Sunday morning, my roommate Sarah and I thought why should marshmallows be relegated to hot chocolate and not get to swim in other fabulous oceans of hot beverages.  So placed two Pumpkin Spice Marshmallows in our coffees, added some milk, and took our homemade pumpkin spice coffees church.  And I did the same this morning.  The marshmallows add just a slight hint of pumpkin and sweetness, nothing too overpowering.  If you like your coffee sweet you’re still going to need to add sugar, or just add more marshmallows.

Ingredients (makes ~2 mugs of coffee):
6 scoops coffee
6 cups water
teaspoon (or more!) cinnamon
Pumpkin Spice Marshmallows

Directions:
1. Add cinnamon and coffee to coffee filter.  Pour water into pot and brew as usual.
2. Add marshmallows.  Cream and sugar to your liking.

2 responses »

  1. Yummy! I tried to make pumpkin lattes last year by heating actual canned pumpkin in a pot with coffee and spices. The taste was right, but no matter how much I strained it, the texture was still pulpy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

