RSS Feed

Day 2: Pumpkin Vinaigrette

Posted on

After last night’s not-so-vegetable-filled dinner, I woke up this morning wanting something more vegetable-packed for lunch so I decided to make myself a salad.  On a day when I’ve put more forethought into my lunch I’ll probably add some roasted pumpkin to a salad (with walnuts and goatcheese?  Maybe a raspberry or champagne vinaigrette?  I already can’t wait!).  So this morning as I walked Ginger, who is clueless to my pumpkin endeavor, I started looking up some pumpkin salad dressing recipes.  I went with one based off of one from the Institute for Integrative Nutrition.

Ingredients:
2/3 cup pumpkin puree
1/3 cup apple cider vinegar
1/2 cup olive oil
1/4 cup honey
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp black pepper
1/2 tsp rosemary
1/2 tsp thyme
1 clove crushed garlic, or what I estimated that to be because I buy pre-crushed garlic

Directions:
Whisk all of the ingredients together and dress to taste.

I tasted a little bit this morning before I put it on my salad and it was pumpkiny but balanced well with the spices, honey, and vinegar so the pumpkin wasn’t overpowering.

Leave a Reply

