RSS Feed

Day 3: Pumpkin Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Posted on

After dinner Brei and I decided to make some cookies.  We had to somehow balance out the healthy vegetables we’d eaten, so cookies were the answer.  I also wanted to bring some weekend treats to my coworkers.  I usually use the Quaker Oats Vanishing Oatmeal Raisin Cookie recipe as my base for all oatmeal cookies, and didn’t think this should be any different.  Brei and I hit a slight bump in the road because I didn’t have enough oats to go around, so we made due with what we had.  We used one less cup of oats and one more cup of flour than I would have liked, so below is the ideal oatsier recipe.

JOMG so delish!

Pumpkin Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

 

Ingredients:
1 stick butter, room temperature
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
1 egg
1 tbsp vanilla extract, and a little extra for good luck
1 cup pumpkin puree
3 cups oats
1.5 cups all purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tbsp cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp ginger
1/8 tsp cloves
1 tsp salt (less if you don’t like salted desserts)
1 cup chocolate chips (oh man I wish I’d had dark chocolate chips)
1 cup craisins (this would be delicious.  Brei and I didn’t add these, so that’s an excuse for making these again!)

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350
2. Cream butter and sugars in a mixer on nmedium-hight until smooth and creamy.
3. Add egg and vanilla.  Mix well.  Add pumpkin.  Mix well.
4. Mix all other ingredients in a separate bowl.  (I usually add the oats last, after all the other dry ingredients have been added, but tonight Brei mixed them all together and the oats mixed into the cookie batter better than usual.)
5. Slowly add dry ingredients to the wet and mix on low-medium until mixed well.
6. Add chocolate chips / craisins / whatever else you want to mix in to the cookies on low speed.
7. Scoop/spoon out onto baking sheet (I like to use a cookie scoop, basically a small ice cream scoop) and bake for 10-15 minutes.
8. Try to share with friends

One response »

  1. Sounds yummy! Pinned it and plan to make this weekend. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

